Skip to Content

Telegram Chat Deleted For Both Sides – 4 Reasons and Fixes

Telegram Chat Deleted For Both Sides – 4 Reasons and Fixes

Many Telegram users report that their chat often gets deleted for both sides, and they don’t know why this is happening. 

If your Telegram chat gets deleted for both sides, simply click the “Undo” option at the bottom right of the chat screen within 5 seconds to recover it. If that time has passed, export your chat data from the Telegram server using its desktop app. 

In this article, we’ll show you why your Telegram chat gets deleted for both sides and what steps you can take to tackle this issue.

Why did the Telegram chat get deleted for both sides?

Why did the Telegram chat get deleted for both sides?

If your Telegram chat gets deleted for both sides, this happens due to one of the following reasons: 

  • You or the other person has unintentionally deleted the chat for both sides.
  • The Auto-Delete feature is active on your Telegram account profile.
  • You are texting in a Telegram secret chat window. 
  • Your contact has deleted their Telegram account without letting you know. 

How can I recover deleted chat from both sides in Telegram?

recover deleted chat from both sides in Telegram

If Telegram chat is accidentally deleted for both sides by you, here are some easy and simple methods for recovery.

Undo the Messages

Telegram has an “Undo” option that lets you recover your messages within 5 seconds when you delete them.

For this, simply tap the “Undo” option at the bottom right of the screen whenever you accidentally delete your messages for both sides. 

Export Chat Data From the Telegram Server

Since Telegram automatically saves all your data (except for secret chats) on its server, you can use the “Export Telegram Data” feature on its Desktop app to recover your deleted chats. Here’s how:

  • Download & install “Telegram Desktop” (on your computer) and open it.
  • Open “Telegram” (mobile app).
  • Tap the three lines (skip to the next step if you are using an iPhone). 
  • Tap “Settings.”
  • Choose “Devices.”
  • Tap “Link Desktop Device.”
  • Scan the QR code on the Telegram Desktop screen to link your mobile app.

Next up, follow these steps to export your deleted messages from the Telegram server:

  • Click the three lines (in Telegram Desktop).
  • Click “Settings.”
  • Choose “Advanced.”
exporting Telegram account data
  • Click “Export Telegram Data.”
  • Checkmark “Personal Chats.”
  • Select “Export.”

Telegram will send you a warning message/notification on its mobile app for security reasons; open it and tap “Allow.”

After that, repeat the above steps once again on the Telegram Desktop app, and it will start exporting your data. Then, click the “Show My Data” when the export process is finished to check the file and see if you can find your deleted Telegram messages.

IMPORTANT: The Telegram data export option will only recover chats that you’ve deleted for both sides, not if the other person did it first. 

Use iTunes Backup

If you use Telegram on your iPhone and have previously backed your data using iTunes, you may recover your deleted chats using your Mac computer in the following way:

  • Connect your iPhone to your Mac computer using a USB-C lightning cable.
  • Select “Trust this Computer” or enter your Mac password if asked.
  • Open “iTunes” (on Mac).
  • Select your iPhone in iTunes (the “Device” icon in the top left of the app). 
  • Click “Summary.”
  • Click “Restore Backup.”
  • Choose the data you want to restore, and hopefully, it will recover your deleted Telegram chats. 

Again, remember that this method will only recover the chats that are ONLY deleted by you for both sides (Not the other way around)!

Check Telegram Cache on Android: 

There’s a possibility you can recover your deleted Telegram messages through its “Cache” folder on your Android device. Here’s how: 

  • Open the “File Manager” app.
  • Tap the “Android” folder (under “Phone” or “Phone Storage”).
  • Tap “Data.”
  • Choose “org.telegram.messenger.”
  • Open the “Cache” folder.
Checking Telegram cache folder on Android

Next, check the “Cache” folder and see if you can find your deleted Telegram chats. 

How do I stop Telegram chat from being deleted for both sides?

stopping Telegram chat from being deleted for both sides

To stop Telegram chat from getting deleted for both sides, the following 3 methods can be really helpful.

Disable Auto-Delete 

The first way is to disable the Telegram Auto-Delete feature that (when enabled) automatically deletes new messages sent in your chat for both sides after a specific period. 

Do these steps: 

Within the Chat: 

  • Open the chat window on which the messages got deleted for both sides.
  • Tap the top “Info” bar.
  • Tap the three dots.
  • Select “Auto Delete.”
  • Select “Custom” (from the drop-down menu).
  • Choose “Off.”
  • Tap “Disable Auto-Delete.”
disabling the Auto Delete feature in Telegram chat

From Settings:

  • Open the Telegram app”
  • Tap the three lines (skip to the next step on an iPhone).
  • Tap “Settings.”
  • Select “Privacy and Security.”
  • Select “Auto-Delete Messages.”
  • Tap “Off,” and you are all set!

Disable Self-Destruct Timer

Telegram’s “Secret Chat” function is an end-to-end encrypted chat that leaves no traces on its server and has a self-destruct timer (enabled by default). It deletes all your messages after a specific amount of time, and the clock starts when you read them. 

Luckily, you can disable the “Self Destruct Timer” within the chat to avoid losing your messages for both sides. Here’s how: 

  • Open “Telegram.”
  • Open the secret chat.
  • Tap the three dots (in the upper right corner of the chat).
  • Tap “Set Self-Destruct Timer.”
  • Choose “Off.”
  • Choose “Done.”

Now, Telegram won’t delete your messages for both sides until you or the other person clears the history. 

INFO: Telegram also allows you to enable the self-destruct option on your photos before sending them to others. 

Save Important Messages

Telegram’s “Saved Messages” feature is a personal cloud storage where you can later access your important texts or media files.

Since these messages are saved in a separate folder (from where they were sent or received), they won’t get deleted if someone accidentally clears the chat history. 

So, to stop your Telegram from deleting your important chats on both sides, store them in the “Saved Messages” folder in the following way: 

  • Open “Telegram.”
  • Open the chat.
  • Tap and hold the messages you want to save for later access.
  • Tap “Forward.”
  • Choose “Saved Messages” (at the top of the chats/contacts).

To access these messages later, open Telegram “Settings” and go to “Saved Messages.” 

You can also ask the other person to do the same so that chats don’t disappear for both sides. 

NOTE: If the other person deletes their account, Telegram will delete your chat with them for both sides. Unfortunately, there is nothing you can do to recover the texts.

Conclusion

In this article, we’ve explained why your Telegram chat gets deleted for both sides and discussed a few ways to recover it. We’ve also explored how you can stop Telegram chat from being deleted for both sides. to delete  

Hopefully, you can now access the deleted Telegram conversation and resume communication with the other person effectively.   

Author

  • Tauqeer Ahmed

    Tauqeer Ahmed is a technology expert with over 10 years of experience in the industry. He has a degree in Computer Science and specializes in network security and software troubleshooting. You can find out more about him at https://helpfixthat.com/tauqeer-ahmed/