Skip to Content

What Happens When You Remove A Follower On TikTok? Answered

What Happens When You Remove A Follower On TikTok? Answered

Are you wondering what happens when you remove a follower on TikTok due to stalkerish, bullish, or unethical behavior? The answer is a bit interesting. 

When you remove a follower on TikTok, your videos will no longer appear in their account “Following” feed, and they cannot send you a direct message or receive notifications about your new content or Live streaming. But they can still follow you back and check your content when they visit your profile. 

In this article, we’ll answer what happens when you remove a following from TikTok. We’ll also explore how to remove others from your account and block someone from seeing your followers.

What happens when you remove a follower on TikTok?

What happens when you remove a follower on TikTok?

Removing a follower is a convenient way to clean up the list of people who follow you on TikTok. It can also help you to guard yourself from being stalked, harassed, or bullied by a particular few. 

Here’s what usually happens when you remove a follower on TikTok:

Can’t See Your Content

Once you remove a follower, they will no longer see your videos in their TikTok “Following” feed. But, based on the algorithm, your videos might appear on their For You page, and they can still view your content upon visiting your profile.

Can’t Receive Notifications

The person you like to remove as a follower will no longer receive any notification about your activity on TikTok. For instance, they won’t get updates about your new videos, Live streams, or other TikTok interactions.

Can’t Send Direct Messages and Follow Back

When you remove a follower, any existing direct messages they’ve sent to you will remain visible. But they cannot send you new messages unless you approve their messages request. 

The person can still search your profile on TikTok and follow you again.

However, if your account is in Private mode, the person won’t see your profile content and can’t follow you again until you approve their following request. 

Will my follower know if I remove them?

Will my follower know if I remove them?

TikTok does not explicitly alert or notify the person when you remove them from your followers list. Instead, it is a one-sided action that will affect only your account as you lose a follower from your TikTok profile.

But the person might notice they no longer see your content in their Following feed and interact with your account.

How do I delete a follower on TikTok?

How do I delete a follower on TikTok?

Now that you know the aftermath of removing a follower on TikTok, you might wonder how to delete them from your account. Let’s discuss a few ways to do so below:

Use Followers List

Your Followers list under your TikTok profile gives you more control to remove as many people as you want. To do this:  

  • Open “TikTok.”
  • Sign in to your TikTok account using your email/phone number and password.
  • Tap “Me/Profile” in the bottom-right corner of the global navigation bar.
  • Select “Followers” to access the TikTok followers list.
  • Tap Three dots next to the profile you want to remove as a follower.
  • Tap “Remove Follower.”
  • Select “Remove.” 

Use “Remove This Follower” Fearute

You can also remove a follower from TikTok through the “Remove This Follower” option accessible on their handle with these steps:

  • Open “TikTok.”
  • Tap the “Search” icon.
  • Search for the person’s handle you want to remove as a follower and open their profile.
  • Tap three dots.
  • Select “Remove This Follower.”
  • Tap “Remove.”

Block Follower

Blocking a person on TikTok will not only permanently remove them as your follower but will also prevent them from accessing your profile in the future. To do this:

  • Open “TikTok.”
  • Tap the “Search” icon.
  • Search for the follower’s account you want to remove and tap it.
  • Tap the three dots.
  • Tap “Block.”
  • Select “Block” again.

How do I block someone from seeing my followers on TikTok?

How do I block someone from seeing my followers on TikTok?

To secure your account, you can block a person from seeing your followers list once you remove them as a follower. Follow these steps:

  • Open “TikTok.”
  • Sign in to your TikTok account using the credentials.
  • Tap “Profile/Me.”
  • Tap three dots to open “Settings and Privacy.”
  • Select “Privacy.”
  • Tap “Following List.”
  • Tap “Only Me.”

You can also set other TikTok interactions, such as commenting on your profile, mentions and tags, direct messages, duet, stitch, and liked videos to “Only Me” to fully secure your account. 

How will I know if someone unfollowed me on TikTok?

How will I know if someone unfollowed me on TikTok?

Although TikTok does not send you an alert or notification when someone unfollows you, you can indirectly confirm this with these solutions.

Check the Followers List

The first solution is to check your followers list to determine if someone has unfollowed you. For this:

  • Open “TikTok.”
  • Tap “Profile/Me.”
  • Tap “Followers;” 
  • Now, scroll down to search for the person and see if they are in your followers list. Otherwise, they’ve unfollowed your TikTok account. 

Monitors the Account Engagement

If someone who used to interact with your TikTok profile regularly stops doing so and you notice a decline in your engagement, they might have unfollowed you.

Some of the TikTok metrics that can help you check your profile engagement are:

  • Likes
  • Comments 
  • Shares
  • Views

Check Their Profile

You can also check someone’s profile to determine whether they’ve unfollowed you on TikTok with these steps:

  • Open “TikTok.”
  • Tap “Search.”
  • Search for the person whose TikTok profile you want to check and open it.
  • If you see a “Follow Back” button or “Friend” icon on their profile, it means the person is still following you. Otherwise, they’ve unfollowed your TikTok account. 

Why do people want followers on TikTok?

Why do people want followers on TikTok?

Below are some reasons why people strive to get followers for their TikTok accounts:

  • Get more visibility and recognition to showcase their talent, creativity, or unique perspectives.
  • Exert influence and make an impact within the TikTok community. 
  • Get social validation.
  • Build a strong community and connect with like-minded people.
  • Build a brand or open more opportunities for sponsored content collaborations or brand partnerships.

So, regularly removing followers on TikTok can directly impact your profile visibility and reduce your online community. 

Conclusion

In this article, we’ve discussed what happens when you remove a follower on TikTok and explored a few solutions to get rid of unwanted people on your account.

We’ve also answered whether the followers get notified when you remove them from your TikTok followers list. 

Hopefully, this article was helpful and has empowered you with the knowledge to manage your TikTok follower list effectively.

Author

  • Tauqeer Ahmed

    Tauqeer Ahmed is a technology expert with over 10 years of experience in the industry. He has a degree in Computer Science and specializes in network security and software troubleshooting. You can find out more about him at https://helpfixthat.com/tauqeer-ahmed/