Considering deleting a chat on Telegram, but paranoid the other person will find out? Can other people find out when you remove their chat?
When you delete a chat on Telegram, the recipient will not receive a specific notification about your action. However, they might know you deleted the chat when they can no longer find the conversation history in their account. The same can be said about the secret messages and auto-delete timers.
In this article, I’ll answer your question, “If I delete chat on Telegram will they know?” In particular, I’ll discuss:
- The difference between the secret chat and the auto message delete feature on the app
- How to recover deleted chat on Telegram
Let’s get into it!
Does Telegram show when you delete a chat?
When deleting a chat on Telegram, the messaging service offers two options, i.e., “Delete For Me” and Also “Delete For (Name).” When you delete a chat for yourself, the message disappears from your account, but the other person can still see them.
On the other hand, if you select “Also Delete For (Name),” the chat disappears from the recipient account. However, Telegram won’t specifically notify them about the deleted conversation like most messaging apps.
But there’s a catch. The recipient will know you deleted the chat when they check their account and cannot find the conversation history with you. Also, if the person has turned on the Telegram app notifications on their device, they can still read the deleted message in the notification panel.
Will someone know if I delete a secret chat on Telegram?
Telegram secret chat is a feature that improves your privacy on the messaging platform and makes them more secure. Some key benefits of this chat feature are:
- End-to-end chat encryption.
- No traces of the texts on the Telegram server.
- Self-destruct timer.
- No message forwarding.
Like regular conversations, Telegram has two options for deleting secret chats. If you delete a chat for everyone, the recipient won’t get any notification. But since they won’t find conversations in their account anymore, they will know about it.
What is the difference between secret chat and auto delete in Telegram?
Secret chats in Telegram have a self-destruct timer, after which the text deletes. It will automatically disappear from history without any traces when the recipient reads it.
However, the recipient will receive a notification in the chat that you have set the self-destruct timer and will know that the messages will delete once they read them. You can enable this feature for individual conversations with these steps:
- Open Telegram.
- Open the secret chat where you want to enable the self-destruct timer.
- Tap the three dots.
- Tap “Set Self-Destruct Timer.”
- Scroll and select the duration.
- Tap “Done.”
On the other hand, when you turn on the auto-delete feature, it deletes all the new messages in the regular chats for both the sender and recipient at some point after being sent. This option is available under the “Privacy and Security” settings in Telegram:
- Open “Telegram.”
- Tap the three lines.
- Tap “Settings.”
- Select “Privacy and Security.”
- Choose “Auto Delete Messages.”
- Select the time.
- Tap “Enable.”
Telegram won’t send the recipient any notification in the chat when you enable the “Auto Delete Messages” option; they will notice that the messages are no longer there when the time expires.
How Do I Recover Deleted Chat On Telegram?
To recover the deleted Telegram chat before the recipient notices your action, or maybe if someone has cleared your conversation and you need it back, try these solutions.
Use Undo Feature
Telegram has an undo feature that allows you to recover deleted chats within 5 seconds. For this, when you delete a text, tap the “Undo” option, and that’s about it.
Check Telegram Saved Message
If you want to recover the deleted messages someone erased from the chat, check the Telegram “Saved Messages” cloud storage section.
This feature gives you the option to forward text, media, and files and access them on any authenticated device.
To access this feature:
- Open “Telegram.”
- Tap the three lines.
- Tap “Saved Messages.”
- Look for your saved messages and forward them to anyone you want.
IMPORTANT: This method will only work if you have saved the messages to the cloud before the other person deletes them.
Export Telegram Data
Since Telegram saves all the data on its server, including deleted texts or chats, you can recover them on its desktop app version. Here’s how:
- Download the Telegram app and install it on your PC.
- Sign in to your account using the QR code or phone number.
- Click the three lines at the top-right corner of the Telegram app dashboard.
- Click “Settings.”
- Go to “Advanced.”
- Head to the “Data and Storage” section.
- Look for “Export Telegram Data” and click it.
- Select all the chat export settings, including Personal Chats.
- Click “Export.”
Once the export process is complete, click “Show My Data” to view your deleted Teleragm chats.
NOTE: The Telegram cache folder on your Android device also saves your chats and other app data. So, do check it to recover the deleted conversation.
Use iTunes Backup
If you are using Telegram on your iPhone, use the iTunes backup feature on Mac to recover the deleted messages with these steps:
- Connect your iPhone to your Mac using the USB-C to lightning cable.
- Choose “Trust this Computer” or enter the passcode if prompted.
- Launch iTunes.
- Select your device in iTunes.
- Click “Restore Backup.”
- Select the type of data you want to restore, which will likely recover your Telegram deleted messages.
Contact Telegram Support
If all else fails, contact the Telegram Support team to report your issue and discuss what steps you took to recover the lost messages. To do this:
- Open a browser on your PC and go to the Telegram Support page.
- Enter the details of your problem in the given field.
- Type in your email address and phone number on which you’ve created the Telegram account.
- Click “Submit.”
In this detailed guide, we’ve discussed “If you delete chat on Telegram, will they know” and how you can recover the lost conversations with quick and easy instructions.
Hopefully, you now have complete insight into the matter and can decide to erase the messages carefully while communicating on Telegram.