Skip to Content

Telegram Only Contacts Can Message – Reason + Fix

Telegram Only Contacts Can Message – Reason + Fix

Telegram is a globally accessible messaging platform that helps you connect with others, but some users complain that their account is restricted to only contacts who can send a message.

If your Telegram account is limited to only your contacts can message, this is because you have not set a username for your profile or your phone number is private. To prevent this, add your username in Account Settings or remove your phone number from private under the “Privacy and Security” settings. 

In this article, we’ll explore why your Telegram account is restricted to only contacts who can send a message and what you can do about it. 

Can non contacts message me on Telegram?

Can non contacts message me on Telegram?

When you set a username on Telegram, non-contacts can find your account and message you through the “Global Search” option on the app, even if they don’t have your phone number.

However, if your profile has no username, your Telegram account can get restricted to “only contacts can message.” 

Some other reasons why non-contacts cannot text you on Telegram are as follow:

  • You are not active or part of any Telegram group or channel. 
  • You have blocked the non-contact person on your account.
  • Account privacy settings are incorrect.
  • Your contacts are unable to forward your messages to others with a link to your account. 
  • Your phone number is set to private.  
  • You have deactivated the “People Nearby” feature on your Telegram account. 

How do I remove the restriction of only contacts who can message on Telegram?

How do I remove contact only message restriction telegram

Although Telegram has no specific option to remove the “only contacts can message” limit from your account, here are some simple workarounds to help you regain control over your communication with others.

Add Username

While creating an account, Telegram asks you to set a username to make your profile more accessible to non-contacts. 

However, if you haven’t added any username during the setup process, only your contacts can message you on your account. Therefore, it’s best to add the name to your Telegram account with these steps: 

Android / iOS:

  • Open Telegram.”
  • Tap the three lines.
  • Choose “Settings.”
  • Select “None.”
  • Add a username in the given field.
  • Select the “Tick” icon to confirm the action.

Telegram Desktop App:

  • Open Telegram.”
  • Click the three lines.
  • Click “Settings.”
  • Select “Edit Profile.”
  • Click “t.me/username.”
  • Enter the username.
  • Click “Save,” and now others can message you on Telegram through your username. 

Remove Phone Number From Private

If the phone number on your Telegram profile is private, others won’t be able to see your details, and only people in your contacts can communicate with you. 

So, to change the status of your phone number from private to public on Telegram, follow these steps:

  • Open Telegram.”
  • Click or tap the three lines at the top-left corner of the app’s screen.
  • Select “Settings.”
  • Select “Privacy and Security.”
  • Choose “Phone Number.” 
  • Next, choose “Everybody” in the “Who Can See My Phone Number?” section. 
  • In the “Who Can Find Me By My Number” section, select “Everybody.”
  • Tap the “Tick” or choose the “Save” icon to apply the changes, and you will now receive messages from non-contacts.

Stay Active on Groups and Channels

One of the best methods to resolve the issue is to stay active on Telegram channels and groups to connect with others. This way, group and channel members can find your profile to get a phone number or username and text you. 

You can also configure your Telegram account settings to let non-contacts add you to groups and channels. To do this: 

  • Open “Telegram.”
  • Select the three lines.
  • Choose “Settings.”
  • Go to “Privacy and Security.”
  • Select “Groups & Channels.”
  • Select “Everybody” under “Who Can Add Me To Groups and Channels.”
  • Choose “Save” or tap the tick icon.
changing group and channel settings on Telegram

Change Forwarded Message Settings

Besides making your phone number public and configuring who can add you to groups, Telegram also offers a Forwarded Messages setting.

When this setting is misconfigured, your contacts cannot forward your messages to others with a link to your account. This keeps your Telegram profile invisible to others, and they cannot communicate back in reply. 

To make new friends and allow non-contacts to find your profile, configure the “Forwarded Messages” setting this way:

  • Launch “Telegram.”
  • Tap or click three horizontal lines.
  • Select “Settings” > Privacy and Security.”
  • Choose “Forwarded Messages.”
  • Select “Everybody” under the “Who Can Add a Link To My Account When Forwarding My Messages.”
  • Click “Save” or tap the Tick icon. 

Now, non-contacts can click on your profile link to send you text messages. 

Unblock Users

You might have blocked the non-contact person on Telegram, which could be why they cannot send you any messages. 

To unblock them and allow them to text you, try these steps:

  • Open “Telegram.”
  • Tap or click the three lines.
  • Select “Settings.”
  • Go to “Privacy and Security.”
  • Tap or click the profile name on the top of the screen.
  • Select “Unblock User.” 
  • Choose “Blocked Users.”
  • Click or tap “Unblock” next to the target person. 
Unblocking non-contact on Telegram

Enable People Nearby Option In Telegram

The “People Nearby” feature on Telegram lets you discover people near your area. It also helps others find your profile and send you messages even when they are not on your contact list. 

However, if you have disabled this option on your Telegram account, your account will be restricted to your contacts who can message you. 

To fix this, enable the “People Nearby” option on the Telegram app with these steps:

  • Open “Telegram.”
  • Tap or click the “Hamburger” icon (Tripple bar).
  • Tap “Allow Access” to let Telegram access your current location.
  • Select “People Nearby.”
  • Click or Tap “Make Myself Visible” to turn off the invisible setting. 

By activating this function, you will help people in your area who are not in your contacts to send messages.

NOTE: When the People Nearby option is disabled, Telegram will also stop you from sending messages to nearby people.

Conclusion

In this comprehensive guide, we’ve explained why your Telegram is limited to only your contacts who can send you a message and how you can quickly fix this issue. 

Hopefully, this article was helpful, and you can now enjoy a more open and engaging experience on Telegram with people outside your Telegram network.

Author

  • Tauqeer Ahmed

    Tauqeer Ahmed is a technology expert with over 10 years of experience in the industry. He has a degree in Computer Science and specializes in network security and software troubleshooting. You can find out more about him at https://helpfixthat.com/tauqeer-ahmed/