Skip to Content

What Does ‘From Your Contacts’ Mean On TikTok + Fix

What Does ‘From Your Contacts’ Mean On TikTok + Fix

Have you ever wondered what ‘From Your Contacts’ means on TikTok when it suggests a list of new friends on your profile? 

‘From Your Contacts” on TikTok means that the app can access your phone’s contacts list and is suggesting you people from it. This happens when you add a phone number to your TikTok account and then sync your contact list on the app. To stop TikTok from suggesting friends from your contacts, turn off “Contact Sync” while creating an account or stop it from accessing the contact list on the phone.

In this article, we’ll discuss what does ‘From Your Contacts’ mean on TikTok?” We’ll also explore a few ways to stop TikTok from suggesting friends using your contacts list on your phone.  

What does TikTok mean when it says from your contacts?

What does TikTok mean when it says from your contacts

If you see ‘From Your Contacts’ with the list of new suggested friends on TikTok, you’ve added a phone number to your TikTok account and have synced your contacts on the app. 

Due to these settings on your account, TikTok suggests those users whose phone number is saved on your contact list.

This also means that the other person has added the phone number to their account and has enabled “Contacts” in the “Suggest Your Account to Others” settings. So, if you and the other user have each other’s number saved on the phone, TikTok will suggest them to you. 

How do I stop TikTok from suggesting ‘From Your Contacts’?

stopping TikTok from suggesting ‘From Your Contacts’

If you want to stop TikTok from suggesting ‘From Your Contacts’ friends, these 7 step-by-step methods will help you get this done in no time. 

Turn Off Contact Sync 

During the signup process, TikTok asks you to sync contacts on your phone to help you find and get discovered by people. 

So, when you enable this setting, you provide permission to TikTok to suggest those friends from your phonebook who are using it, too. 

To prevent this, disable the “Sync Contacts” option on your TikTok account with these steps:

  • Open the “TikTok” app.
  • Choose “Me/Profile.”
  • Tap “Settings and Privacy.”
  • Tap “Privacy.”
  • Choose “Sync Contacts and Facebook Friends.”
  • Toggle off “Sync Contacts.”
  • Tap “Remove Previously Synced Contacts.”
  • Tap “Remove.”
removing previously synced contacts on tiktok

Next up, go back to your TikTok profile, swipe down the screen to refresh your account, and check whether this resolves the problem. 

Unlink Phone Number From TikTok

The next solution to stop TikTok from suggesting new ‘From Your Contacts’ friends is to unlink your phone number from your account. Here’s how:

  • Open the “TikTok” app.
  • Tap “Profile” or “Me.”
  • Tap the three lines. 
  • Select “Settings and Privacy.”
  • Select “Account.”
  • Tap “Account Information.”
  • Tap “Phone Number.”
  • Select “Unlink Phone.”
  • Tap “Unlink.”

Once you unlink your phone number from TikTok, check the list of suggested friends on your profile and see if the problem persists. 

Disable “Contacts” on Profile

You can ask the other user to disable the “Contacts” option on their TikTok app to stop it from suggesting them to you. 

Here are the steps that can help you guide them through the process: 

  • Open “TikTok.
  • Tap “Profile” / “Me.”
  • Tap the three lines.
  • Select “Settings and Privacy.”
  • Select “Privacy.”
  • Choose “Suggest Your Account To Others.”
  • Toggle off “Contacts.” 

Afterward, access your profile on TikTok and see if it still suggests friends from your contacts. 

Revoke TikTok Access to the Contact List on the Phone

There’s another way! You can revoke TikTok’s access to your contacts list on the phone. Do these steps:

Android:

  • Open Android “Settings.”
  • Choose “Apps.”
  • Tap “All Apps.”
  • Tap “TikTok.”
  • Select “Permissions.”
  • Tap “Contacts.”
  • Choose “Deny.”

You can also change the TikTok app permission on Android this way:

  • Open “Settings.”
  • Go to “Privacy” or “Security & Privacy.”
  • Choose “Permission Manager.”
  • Tap “Contacts.”
  • Tap “TikTok.”
  • Select “Deny.”

iPhone:

  • Open “Settings.”
  • Tap “Privacy” / “Privacy & Security.”
  • Tap “Contacts.”
  • Toggle off “TikTok.”

Now, launch the TikTok app on your phone, and hopefully, it will stop suggesting friends from your contacts. 

Remove The Person From Your Contacts

Another solution to stop TikTok from suggesting a particular user from your contacts is to remove them from your phonebook. Here’s how:

Android:

  • Open “Contacts.”
  • Find/Search for the person you want to remove.
  • Tap & hold the contact.
  • Tap “Delete.”
  • Select “Move to Trash.”
Deleting contact on android

iPhone:

  • Open “Phone.”
  • Tap “Contacts.”
  • Select the contact you want to remove from the list.
  • Tap “Edit.”
  • Tap “Delete Contact.”
  • Select “Delete Contact” again. 

Clear TikTok Cache

If you’ve correctly configured the privacy settings on your TikTok account, but it still suggests friends from your contacts, the corrupt app cache data might be the culprit for this frustrating glitch.

But don’t worry! You can easily troubleshoot this issue by clearing the TikTok cache data on your phone with the steps given below:

TikTok App:

  • Open the “TikTok” app.
  • Choose “Me/Profile.”
  • Tap the three lines.
  • Tap “Settings and Privacy.”
  • Select “Free Up Space.”
  • Tap “Clear” next to “Cache.”

Android:

  • Open Android “Settings.”
  • Go to “Apps” > “All Apps.”
  • Choose “TikTok.”
  • Tap “Storage.”
  • Tap “Clear Cache.”
  • Select “Clear Data.”

iPhone:

  • Open iPhone “Settings.”
  • Choose “General.”
  • Tap “iPhone Storage.”
  • Select “TikTok.”
  • Tap “Offload App.”
  • Tap “Offload App” again. 

Next, relaunch the TikTok app on your phone and confirm if the problem recurs.

Reinstall TikTok

The last solution to prevent TikTok from suggesting friends from your contacts is to reinstall it on your phone. This will remove any corrupt installation files or misconfigurations that are causing this problem. Here’s how:

Android:

  • Tap & hold the “TikTok” app from the Home screen of your Android device.
  • Tap “Uninstall.”
  • Select “OK.”
  • Open “Play Store.”
  • Search for “TikTok.”
  • Tap “Install.”

iPhone:

  • Open iPhone “Settings.”
  • Tap “General.”
  • Choose “iPhone Storage.”
  • Tap “TikTok.”
  • Tap “Delete App.”
  • Select “Delete App” again.
  • Go to “App Store.”
  • Find “TikTok.”
  • Tap “GET.”

After reinstalling the TikTok app on your mobile device, open it, sign in to your account, and verify the fix.

Conclusion

In this article, we’ve explained what does ‘From Your Contacts’ mean on TikTok and how you can stop it from suggesting friends from your contact list. 

Hopefully, you’ve found this article helpful and can now configure the right privacy settings on your TikTok account and interact with only those people with whom you are willing to engage.

Author

  • Tauqeer Ahmed

    Tauqeer Ahmed is a technology expert with over 10 years of experience in the industry. He has a degree in Computer Science and specializes in network security and software troubleshooting. You can find out more about him at https://helpfixthat.com/tauqeer-ahmed/