With Snapchat being one of the most popular social media apps to connect users to friends and even strangers, it provides a platform to save memories from snaps to videos, so it’s only necessary to bode the question; ‘If I uninstall Snapchat will I lose everything’
Sometimes, we want to get rid of our social media apps to complete a ‘cleanse’, or more often than not, we end up selling our device that has all our data on.
Can we uninstall our Snapchat app off of our device and not lose everything?
We have produced this simple guide for you to follow, to be able to understand what will occur if you uninstall your Snapchat app.
Will I lose anything if I uninstall and reinstall Snapchat?
If you are wondering; ‘What happens if I uninstall Snapchat’ the answer is, not much happens that you need to worry about.
Uninstalling Snapchat off of your device only removes the app off your phone, and has nothing to do with your actual account.
- Your profile will stay active
- If you are sent snaps while your app has been uninstalled, they will still be there when you install Snapchat again
- Any snaps sent just before you uninstalled the app will still go through to the receiver
- Your friends’ list will stay intact
- Friends will be able to find your profile and contact you
- Memories will stay and not get deleted
Does uninstalling Snapchat delete chats?
You don’t need to uninstall Snapchat off of your mobile to have chats deleted. Snapchat will automatically delete messages in the chat section once they have been opened.
You can save a message in the chat section if you do not want it to be deleted by pressing down onto the item and selecting ‘Save’
Chats can be set to be deleted straight after the message has been viewed, or 24 hours after.
How do you change your chat settings?
If you want to change your chat settings so they either get removed straight after, or 24 hours later, you can do this with these easy steps;
Step 1. Go onto your ‘Chat Screen’ on Snapchat
Step 2. Select a friend and hold down onto their name
Step 3. Click on ‘More’
Step 4. Presse ‘Delete Chats’
Step 5. You can now choose ‘After Viewing’ or ’24 hours after viewing’
Note, if your Snapchat chat settings were currently set to ’24 hours after viewing’ and you have updated it to ‘After viewing’, your chats that have been previously seen will now be removed.
What happens to unopened Snaps?
If you are uninstalling your Snapchat app with unopened Snaps on your account, there are a few things to consider.
- Unopened Snaps will stay on your Snap server for 7 days
- Snaps sent to group chat will be automatically deleted after 24 hours if they are unopened
- Snaps sent and unopened for 30 days will be automatically deleted
If you have saved snaps on your memories, these will not get automatically deleted and will stay on the Snapchat servers until you physically delete them.
Does clear conversation delete sent snaps
If you decide you want to clear your snap conversations, this will not delete any snaps you have sent to that user or any content you have saved from them.
If you want to clear a conversation:
Step 1. On Snapchat, go into ‘Settings’
Step 2. Find and click on ‘Clear Conversations’
Step 3. Select the ‘X’ button against the contacts you want to clear
When you enter your chats, they will now be cleared besides for anything that has been saved.
Can you delete a Snapchat message?
Snapchat does allow you to delete a snap or message sent to a friend, but does deleting a Snapchat message delete it for the other person?
Yes it does, so long as you delete the message or image before the receiver opens your message.
When you delete a Snapchat message, the receiver will be notified with a message stating; ‘You deleted 1 chat’
Note, if you delete more than one message it will state the number of chats you deleted.
Can you screenshot on Snapchat?
You can take screenshots on Snapchat, however, due to Snapchats security and privacy measures, the profile you have screenshotted will be notified with a message stating that you have taken a screenshot.
How to delete your Snapchat account
You can delete your Snapchat account permanently if you have opted to not just uninstall the app.
Snapchat gives users a 30 day grace period where you will be able to recover your account if you have changed your mind, however, after 30 days, your account will be permanently deleted, and you will not be able to get it back.
Once your account is deleted, all information on the Snapchat database will be removed. This includes;
- Preferred settings
To delete your Snapchat account you will need to go onto the ‘Accounts Portal’ and follow the steps.
Make sure you store your login credentials somewhere in case you decide you want t recover your Snapchat account within the 30 day grace period.
If you decide to reactivate your account, you can download the Snapchat app again and log in as per normal.
Note, you will only be able to reactivate your account with your username, and not your email address.
The way Snapchat has been made, to automatically deleting snaps after they have been received, has made Snapchat one of the most popular social media platforms with over 520 million users worldwide.
Having the ability to uninstall and reinstall the app is beneficial when it comes to changing phones or just to have a break off the app.
We hope this guide has given you everything you needed to know and answered your question, if i uninstall Snapchat will I lose everything? and also helped you with the uninstalling process of Snapchat off of your phone.
Snapchat do have a great support page for anything else you may be querying.
Leave a comment