Skip to Content

What Does TikTok Cache Mean? A Short Guide!

What Does TikTok Cache Mean? A Short Guide!

TikTok is a short-video-content sharing platform that has taken the world by storm with its unique and entertaining content. But have you ever come across the “Clear Cache” option in the TikTok app and wondered what it means?

TikTok cache is temporary app data stored on your device, such as searched history, liked content history, and preferences, for a better user experience. However, it can corrupt over time, and clearing it can improve the app’s performance. To delete the TikTok cache, use the “Clear Cache” option within the app or through your device’s settings.

In this article, we’ll discuss what TikTok cache means, how to delete it, and what happens afterward for your understanding. 

What Does TikTok Cache Mean?

What does TikTok cache mean
Photo by Unsplash

TikTok cache data refers to temporarily stored information that the app saves on your device to improve the loading speed and performance. This data is based on every change you make after installing the TikTok app.

For instance, every search request is stored in the cache, so when you search again, the previous search data is presented to you, speeding up the process. 

Additionally, the app’s cache stores temporary data from your watch history, profile, and posts. The more you use the app, the more data will accumulate in the cache. 

How Do I Delete TikTok Cache?

Clearing TikTok cache data
Photo by Unsplash

As time passes, the cache storage space on the app can become cluttered or corrupt with insignificant data, leading to a slower device and app performance. To resolve this, you can clear the TikTok cache to remove unnecessary data from the app and free up space on your device in the following way. 

Clearing on iOS app

  1. Launch “TikTok” on your iOS device.
  2. Sign in to your TikTok account using your credentials.
  3. Tap “Me.”
  4. Tap the “Hamburger” (three lines) icon.
  5. Select “Settings and Privacy.”
  6. Tap “Clear Cache.”

Some users have reported that clearing the cache data will also troubleshoot the TikTok app if it keeps pausing.

Clearing on Android app

  • Open TikTok.”
  • Sign in using your TikTok account credentials.
  • Go to the “Me/Profile” tab.
  • Tap “Settings and Privacy.”
  • Tap “Free Up Space.” 

Deleting Cache Using iOS Devices

  • Launch “Settings.”
  • Tap “General.”
  • Tap “iPhone Storage.”
  • Select “TikTok.”
  • Tap “Offload App.”
  • Tap “Ofload App” again.

Deleting Cache Using Android Devices

  • Open “Settings.”
  • Tap “Apps.”
  • Tap “All App.”
  • Choose “TikTok.”
  • Tap “Storage.”
  • Tap “Clear Cache.”
Clearing TikTok Cache on Android

Since all your TikTok account data, including watch history, liked videos, and changes to the settings, are saved on the TikTok server, you won’t lose anything after clearing its cache.

However, you’ll have to sign in to your TikTok account again. The app might take a little longer than usual to load for the first time because your preferences are reset, and no previously loaded data is available on the app.

INFO: You won’t lose any data on TikTok if you uninstall the app on your device.

Conclusion

In this article, we’ve explored what TikTok cache means and a few ways to delete it within the app and on your device.

Hopefully, you are not confused about this option anymore and can now get rid of accumulated or corrupted TikTok data without giving it a second thought.

Author

  • Tauqeer Ahmed

    Tauqeer Ahmed is a technology expert with over 10 years of experience in the industry. He has a degree in Computer Science and specializes in network security and software troubleshooting. You can find out more about him at https://helpfixthat.com/tauqeer-ahmed/